Do You Have a Dream?

In Business You Need an Inspiring Statement that is Quickly Understood by Most People.

A computer on every desk. ~Steve Jobs

A computer on every desk in every home running Microsoft software. ~Bill Gates

Produce an affordable automobile. ~Henry Ford

But consider Martin Luther King, Jr’s “I Have a Dream” statement, Thomas Jefferson’s vision for the United States or Louis Gertsner, Jr’s vision to bring IBM back to it’s roots as a provider of integrated solutions. Most effective statements cannot be adequately conveyed in a few sweeping sentences. The most effective dreams are NOT short statements.

You can watch Martin Luther King Jr.’s here:

But what makes a dream work?

What all great dreams have in common is they provide an answer these three questions, either directly or indirectly.

1) Destination: Where are we going?

2) Purpose: Why do we exist? What greater good do we serve?

3) Values: What principles guide our decisions and actions on our journey?

So why do some business fail to fulfill their dream?

Because they don’t have: Perseverance

We can learn a few thing from sticking it out, through obstacles and difficulties and even boredom. Martin Parnell, the semi-retired mining engineer from Cochrane, Alberta, recently finished his quest to run 250 marathons in 2010! Can you imagine? He originally wanted to run 365 marathons in 365 days, but his doctor said no.

Image

When asked about his quest Parnell reported that parts of quest were “boring” as he accomplished his goal. See, that even boredom is the path to greatness!

Image

Sometimes we quit, not because the mountain is too high or because the obstacles are too large, but because we are bored walking through the low parts. Those are just excuses. Are you ready to make your dream a realty?

Do you have a dream? One that you need to take the first step toward today, or keep going on the path?

“Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the whole staircase.” Martin Luther King Jr.

6 thoughts on “Do You Have a Dream?

  1. I’m definitely in the category of “just starting out” (e.g. I don’t have any blog posts yet). So I’m not an “influencer” by any means, but I want to let you know that this article is very inspiring to me. Thank you for writing it.

  2. TEAM- Great advice! I’m in my senior year, found Jason T. Wiser about a year ago (more like was led to him), and I want to be prepared for when I get out of school. Thus, I’m in the market to apprentice more than anything right now. I suppose that’s why what you write resonates with me- anyone at any stage can benefit and be inspired.

      1. Thank you so much! I’m really looking forward to following you in this space and everywhere else around this Web. B) ~Kristin Drysdale, a.k.a. nerdy girl

  3. Reblogged this on everkcid's treehouse and commented:
    I am completely newbielicious to all Social Media… Even more so to WordPress. However, there’s no time like the present, and everyone starts out somewhere. So here is my debut… Reblogging (oh yes, see how very brave I am?). Well, I’m beginning, nonetheless. And actually, I couldn’t be more delighted than to begin with sharing Kenneth Manesse’s eloquent thoughts that he shared yesterday- Martin Luther King Jr Day. He posed the question: “Do You Have a Dream?” Why, yes I do indeed have a dream- a few or more to be forthcoming. Will I turn those dreams into actions?
    We shall see…
    One thing remains clear throughout all my days- and that’s this grand idea of the importance of interconnectedness- to seek out to others on all levels and in every plane. Never stop reaching out to those who have come before or those who will walk after. And by all means, remain open to those who will walk with you and dream with you. ~May we all dream together in one fine circle of interconnection.

Leave a Reply

